• 'Enable the tool in the context menu'

This option enables the tool and makes it available in the Windows Explorer context menu


   

Search options:



 


    • Respect case sensitivity in text variables

This option is useful if the "Show list of possible variable values" option is unchecked; in that case, the user must enter the variables to search for, paying attention to case.


  • Definition of access rights:


 


This window allows the administrator to grant permissions based on the groups defined in . For example, users in the "Designers" group will only be able to view and use search favorites that are designated as public.


    • 'View the PDMSearch search screen'

If this option is not checked, users in this group will not be able to run any searches (the PDMSearch tool will not launch). The following options are not used.


    • 'View and Use Public Bookmarks'

If this option is checked, users in the group will be able to access all public favorites. Otherwise, the user will only see their private favorites; therefore, the following option must be unchecked.


    • 'Add, edit, or delete public searches'

If you do not check this box, users in this group—for which this option is unchecked—will only be able to use public searches and will have full access to their private favorites.


  • Search results:

This window allows you to define the columns that will be displayed. Each column points to a variable defined in the vault. The added variables are selected from a drop-down list to validate the selection.

When a column is to be deleted, simply select the header and press .

Users can also reorder the columns by simply dragging and dropping them with the mouse (just like in Excel-style spreadsheets).


   


Variables in square brackets [x] are system variables; their contents will not be visible in the list displayed in the favorites creation interface.


  • Managing Bookmarks:


 


Favorites are searches that users have performed and saved for later use.

This window lists the various searches that have been created by all users, including both public searches (visible to everyone) and/or private searches (visible only to the user who created the search in private mode).

It is only a list, only the deletion of a search is possible. Select the search and click on the icon .