When multiple users are working on the same server, it makes sense to move the database to the network. The advantage of sharing a database is that it isn't updated by each individual user; therefore, updates will be performed only once and only by a single workstation within the company.

To configure the workstation that updates the database, simply specify a network folder for the database location and then select one of the following options:

There are two possible scenarios:

  • You take charge of updating server folders. This means that when you click on the all folders are modified (yours locally, plus those on the server).
  • If you don't support updating server folders, you can still add network folders, but when you click on the update button or if you schedule the update, only your local folders will be updated. The name of the PC with rights is indicated in the interface (here AXRD-W10).


On the other client computers, simply point to the same network folder for the database location.

If a database already exists at this location, a message will inform you that it will be imported. You will then be able to add your local folders to this database and update them, but only the person designated as the database owner (by default, the database creator) will be able to update network folders.


 


You may, at any time, decide to take over responsibility for updating this shared database. This may be useful if the person in charge of the database is absent for an extended period or leaves the department.